PC Passport

PC Passport

Level 5 (18 SCQF credit points)


Web apps - Word Processing

Web apps - Spreadsheets

Web apps - Presentations

The NPA PC Passport at SCQF levels 4, 5 and 6 provides learners with up-to-date knowledge and skills in a range of popular IT software, such as Office 365 and Google Workspace.

PC Passport is a modern qualification that will teach you how to use contemporary software such as Word™, Excel™ and Powerpoint™. It not only covers how to use the basic functions of these packages, but you will also learn how to use the collaborative and cloud-based features of the packages.

The qualification is available at three levels: SCQF level 4 (National 4), SCQF level 5 (National 5) and SCQF level 6 (Higher). The level 4 award covers the basics of these packages. The level 6 award covers the advanced features. If you complete the award at level 6 you will have expert skills in using these packages.

If you are not sure what level would be best for you, you can undertake the award at any of the three levels by mixing-and-matching Units across levels. For example, you could try Word Processing at level 6, Presentations at level 5 and Spreadsheets at level 4 — and still gain a national qualification.

Group Award Specification for PC Passport

The qualification will give you opportunities to: develop the knowledge and skills that will enable you to create, store and share your word processing, spreadsheet and presentations. develop your knowledge and understanding of the use of web-based applications and services. The knowledge and skills which you develop as you progress through the qualification will be useful all along your education; they are highly valued by employers and will help you progress your career in whatever path you pursue. You may progress to Computing-related National Certificate qualifications, or the new Digital Application Specialist Modern Apprenticeships.


This course is practical in nature - learners are supported to work at their own pace. Learners who complete the level 6 award are invited to work towards completing the ECDL qualification in conjunction with Forth Valley College. Assessment is 100% internal.


This qualification is ideal as preparation for employment or progression to further studies since you will gain knowledge and skills that are vital for employment or progression to more advanced qualifications.

Entry requirements